Margarita-Themed Treats

Great news: You can drink your margaritas and eat them too! Get your Tequila and Triple Sec fix without the headache and/or embarrassment the next morning. Here are six Margarita-Themed recipes to enjoy. I tried the first one last night and it turned out wonderfully.

Margarita Cupcakes

Who doesn’t like margaritas? Who doesn’t like cupcakes? If you’re not a usual Tequila or Triple Sec drinker, don’t worry about any of it going to waste. In this post, I have included other recipes that use those lovely liquids so you won’t be stuck with those bottles in your cabinet.

I found this awesome recipe for Margarita Cupcakes from Erica’s Sweet Tooth, and it’s perfect for combining the taste of a mixed drink and the loveliness of a cupcake. I made these last night, but I avoided the frosting since I’m not a huge fan of so much egg whites. I guess I could call mine Margarita Muffins. Check out her blog for her recipe and process.

bbmargcupcakes1
Photo Credit: Erica’s Sweet Tooth

She mentions that this is a “summertime” treat, but I strongly believe that margaritas can and should be enjoyed at any time of the year. Her images are beautifully bright and they truly capture the magnificence of her creations.

Last night after classes, I whipped these up but without the buttercream since I’m not a huge fan of so much egg whites and I’m used to making frosting or buttercream with powdered sugar instead of granulated like her recipe shows. I guess I should call mine Margarita Muffins.

NOTE: Erica mentions that the taste of tequila may not emerge after baking, so she brushes the tops of the cooled cupcakes with a mixture of the tequila and triple sec. I think this is a great idea. Props to her for bringing such a cool recipe to the internet!

Since I can’t eat so many cupcakes on my own, I brought them to class. Since I drizzled (not brushed) the alcohol over the cupcakes/muffins, I made sure everyone was 21 before sharing them. Even without the buttercream, they got great reviews.

 

Strawberry Margarita Funnel Cakes

Here’s a great find from Melanie Makes. She has created Strawberry Margarita Funnel Cakes, which I think is absolutely genius. It adds a dash of  your childhood’s carnival-food memories with a splash of boozy grown-up fun. Another great thing about her recipe is that the cooking time is very short. How wonderful! Check out her recipe here.

strawberry-margarita-funnel-cake-mm
Photo Credit: Melanie Makes

 

Margarita Cheesecake

Oh, cheesecake, my dear cheesecake. This delightful dessert is from That Skinny Chick Can Bake. She has done a fantastic job with adding a surprising twist to a classic treat. Test your skills with her recipe and keep that tequila flowing. She’s so talented. I mean, look at this beauty!

Margarita-Cheesecake-51.jpg
Photo Credit: That Skinny Chick Can Bake

I hope I can try it sometime this summer. This is so different from my mother’s cheesecake recipe, but I’m pretty excited about it. Even though Momma’s recipe doesn’t have alcohol in it, I’ll be happy to share my mother’s cheesecake recipe, so keep checking back!

 

Margarita Cookies

Noshing With the Nolands presents a creative margarita spin on a cute cookie recipe. These little treats look so delicate and I love that light green color. Who would have thought that a dessert could be green? I guess in this case, it can be easy being green.

Margarita-Cookies-by-Noshing-With-The-Nolands-2-Small.jpg
Photo Credit: Noshing with the Nolands

 

 

Triple Sec Cream Scones

Another little snippet about me: I’m a big fan of a good scone. Breakfast, lunch, or brunch – bring it on. This scrumptious scone recipe, from ~heidi~ on The Daily Meal is almost too pretty to pass up.

Here’s a super simple equation for you: Daily Meal + boozy scones = yes.

a5a333994a865517af43a0144ef57e67
Photo Credit: ~heidi~ on TheDailyMeal.com

 

Sunny D Triple Sec Pound Cake

Oh my goodness. I should, “say Oh Diane Hopson Smith’s goodness.” This lovely lady from Pine Mountain, GA, a homemaker, mother of 1, and grandmother of 3 has shared her recipe for this super cool cake.. Make sure to also check out her Facebook page with her friend, Jamie Morris Beecham: Sweet & Salty Southern Ladies Can Cook.

8-7-3-8-4_normal-1604090202
Photo Credit: Diane Hopson Smith

 

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing these six recipes. If you’re trying these out, drop a comment and let me know how it goes!

Peace, Love, and Enjoy,

Boozy Baker

 

Leave a Reply

